Phobias: Hippopotomonstrosesquipedaliophobia

PhobiasEveryone probably has a fear of something, but have you ever wondered how to describe it in one word? There are many phobias that describe fears that people have in one word. And those words can be a lot of fun to say!

This being the first blog on phobias, I wanted to define what a phobia is so everyone is clear. A phobia is: the extreme of irrational fear of or aversion to something. Phobias are also a lot of fun to break down linguistically, if you are into language like that!

While there are many different fun phobias out there I wanted to share my favorite phobia in this particular blog post, which is hippopotomonstrosesquipedaliophobia. This is the phobia of long words.

Is it not ironic that the phobia for the fear of long words is one of the longest words out there? I myself do not suffer from the fear of long words, but I feel sorry for those who do. How else are you supposed to appreciate supercalifragilisticexpoalidocious from Mary Poppins?upercalifragilisticexpialidocious

There is much skepticism on whether or not hippopotomonstrosesquipedaliophobia is considered to be an actual phobia or just one made up for fun that has gained popularity on the internet and other places.

— Jessica Jordan, Managing Editor

3 thoughts on “Phobias: Hippopotomonstrosesquipedaliophobia

  1. Editor March 10, 2015 / 10:07 pm

    I love this entry, Jessica. . . I want more!–Simone

    • Daniele February 22, 2020 / 9:17 pm

      I think it’s funny how the phobia is long and it means fear of long words XD

Leave a comment