Meet the Editors: Quinn Stratton

Quinn Stratton
Quinn Stratton

Happy Friday, readers! The semester is still new, so we have new editors for you to meet! First on the list is Quinn Stratton, who is an Assistant Fiction/Nonfiction editor, as well as our new comic blogger. Check out his first post, which introduces his series “Words an’ Pictures.” You can expect new posts from Quinn every other Wednesday.

Quinn Stratton is a junior who recently transferred to Lewis University and is majoring in mathematics and computer science. He has been an avid reader of all literature, comics or otherwise, since he can remember. He also enjoys watching movies, listening to and playing music, watching The Simpsons, proofs from “The Book,” cats, dogs, coffee, and board games.

Below is our Q&A with Quinn:

Who are you and what is your role in the Jet Fuel Review?
My name is Quinn Stratton and I am a Assistant Fiction/Nonfiction Editor and Blogger for the Jet Fuel Review.

What book might we find on your nightstand right now?
Right now I am focusing on Wuthering Heights, but I have also been re-reading some of my favorite Krazy Kat Sundays and have Concrete Mathematics by Ronald Graham, Donald Knuth, and Oren Patashnik that I’m reading for a project that I’m working on.

If you had the chance to co-write with one author, who would you choose? Why?
I would probably want to write something with Carl Barks (although I’m definitely not worthy). I am a huge fan of his work and he was so prolific and innovative that I feel like he could teach me things that would be good to know for any aspect of life.

Describe your perfect reading atmosphere.
Definitely no background noise but other than that it depends on what I’m reading. For normal book size things, probably just a comfortable chair or my bed. But for larger comics and things, sometimes I’ll spread out on the floor. Cats are a huge plus as well.

What might your personal library look like?
My personal library is pretty sprawling. I try to keep everything on shelves but eventually I end up with piles all over the place (desk, floor, bed, etc.). I try to keep it pretty diverse and since I never know what I might end up being interested in. I like to think of myself as a hero who is stockpiling knowledge in the event of some kind of mass Fahrenheit 451-style book banning, but really I’m just sort of a pack rat.

If you could “re-make” a poorly written movie that was based on a book, what movie would it be?
I would really love to see Dune remade — it’s such a fantastic book and the movie really does not do it justice.

What piece of literature can you reread over and over again?
This isn’t one specific piece of literature but really any of the Bill Elder illustrated Mad comics, particularly Mickey Rodent, Ping Pong, Shermlock Sholmes, and The Raven. These were written by Harvey Kurtzman and just for that they would be great to reread, but Elder’s illustrations are so saturated with humor that I can read them over and over and still find myself doubled over in laughter.

Give us a quote from your favorite (or any) book/movie.
“There is a heppy lend fur, fur awa-a-ay!” – George Herriman, Krazy Kat

If you were invited to have coffee with any fictional character, who would you most like to meet? Why?
I would probably like to meet Eliot Rosewater, I don’t think there is a sane person alive who doesn’t identify with him at some point in their lives. It would be nice to get some good science fiction recommendations as well.

Share your top five favorite pieces of writing (anything included, be it movies, books, etc.).
In no particular order:
Lost in the Andes by Carl Barks
The Crying of Lot 49 by Thomeas Pynchon
Pee-Wee’s Big Adventure directed by Tim Burton
The Blue Lotus by Georges Remi (Herge)
Rosemary’s Baby directed by Roman Polanski

**********************

Be sure to check back next Friday to meet another new editor. Have a fantastic weekend!

Leave a Reply

