Discussion: Your Mindset

http://commons.wikimedia.org
http://commons.wikimedia.org

In my Writing Advice post yesterday, I quoted Brandon Sanderson, who said that he loves the process of storytelling. When he sits down to write, he is in the mindset of a storyteller who just wants to get these words onto paper. That got me thinking about what my writing mindset is. The more I thought about it, the more I realized that my mindset changes often.

Sometimes I’m not really in the mood to write, but I know that I have to get some words down for the day. On those days, I’m in the mindset of “just get it done.” Other times I am strongly driven to write down the new ideas that are coming into my head. Sometimes I just can’t get the ideas down fast enough. For me, that is the ideal mindset and I wish it came around more often.

On days when my mindset is lackluster, there are ways that I can get myself more interested in writing. I often read through what I wrote the previous day to remind myself of where I am in my project and to kickstart my brain again. I also read to get myself inspired again and ready to write. And, of course, I do bribe myself with the promise of snacks or time relaxing.

Sometimes a writer’s mindset can change during one session of writing. You may sit down not wanting to write and then hit your stride, finding your inspiration and writing much longer than you had planned. This is also an awesome mindset to be in and it can spark all kinds of new ideas.

So, I was wondering — what is your writing mindset? When you sit down to write on a regular basis, how are you feeling? When you want to psyche yourself up to get some writing done, what do you tell yourself? Do you bribe yourself with thoughts of a shiny finished product, or do you have a brainstorming session about what could be included in your next section of writing? Share your thoughts in the comments!

— Jet Fuel Blog Editor, Mary Egan

One thought on “Discussion: Your Mindset

Leave a Reply

