Discuss: Winter Reads

http://scoopotp.com
http://scoopotp.com

For those of us caught in the polar vortex, it seems that the weather is a mixed blessing. On one hand, we’re frozen into icicles every time we step outside. On the other hand, we have plenty of time to get cozy inside and do some reading. I know that my reading always ramps up when the weather grows nasty, so I don’t really mind when a polar vortex comes swooping through my area. If you’re more of a warm weather person, but you’re also a reader, then you might want to try making a list of winter reads. Hey, we have beach reads, don’t we? Might as well make a list of books you can read when you don’t want to be outside.

Over at Flavorwire, they have compiled a list of 26 Winter Reads that you might want to check out. On this list are books such as The Woman in White, by Wilkie Collins, a book that has been on my shelf for years and has been sadly neglected. There is also Labyrinths by Jorge Luis Borges, which is a very entertaining collection of short stories to cozy up with. The list also contains Middlemarch by George Eliot, which is another book I’ve been meaning to get to. For some reason, the absolute massiveness of this book connotes a winter read. And, of course, modern classics such as Meg Wolitzer’s The Interestings and Donna Tartt’s The Secret History.

In addition to the books shown on this list, I would like to suggest some of my own. If you’re into fantasy and want to relive a book you might have read as a child, I would suggest The Chronicles of Chrestomanci by Diana Wynne Jones. I loved Diana Wynne Jones’ books as a child, but I never got around to this particular story. I read it last year just as it was beginning to get cold and it reminded me of being a child on winter break. I find that Jane Austen is always good to read during the winter months, if only because her works make you grateful that you don’t live in some drafty, old estate in the English countryside. And, of course, if you’re stuck inside then it would be an opportune time to re-read the Harry Potter series. I’m always looking for an excused to re-read the Harry Potter series.

What are you reading this winter? Do you have any books that you read every year when it gets cold outside? What is your list of books to be read now that 2014 has begun? Share in the comments!

— Jet Fuel Blog Editor, Mary Egan

One thought on “Discuss: Winter Reads

Leave a Reply

