Meet the Editors: Michelle Staie

Michelle Staie
Michelle Staie

Happy Friday, blog readers! Around here, Friday means that we have another installment of “Meet the Editors,” and today is no different. Today we are featuring Michelle Staie, the Assistant Managing Editor of the Jet Fuel Review. Michelle is an English major at Lewis University and enjoys reading in bookstores, and falling in love with many, many books. Of course, Michelle also enjoys her position at the Review. The questions in this post were formulated by Melissa Carrington, Fiction Editor and Assistant Blog Editor here at the Review.

Who are you and what is your role in the Jet Fuel Review?

I am Michelle Staie and I am the Assistant Managing Editor.

What book might we find on your nightstand right now?

I read a few books at a time because I get bored easily and I like to reread everything. So right now, I’m reading Bitterblue by Kristin Cashore, Tintenhertz (Inkheart in its original German) by Cornelia Funke, and Hush, hush by Becca Fitzpatrick. I just finished reading Defiance by C.J. Redwine last night.

If you had the chance to co-write with one author, who would you choose? Why?

I would definitely choose to co-write with Cornelia Funke, because I love her novels. Also, all of her work is originally in German and I took advanced study in German at my high school. By co-writing with her I’d be fulfilling two dreams: visiting Germany and writing a novel with my first favorite author.

Describe your perfect reading atmosphere.

I can read anywhere: the car, the city bus, my pool, crowded hallways. But my favorite place is on my front porch in the sunshine. We have flowerbeds surrounding the porch and a hibiscus tree right behind the bench that I sit on. It’s like a jungle oasis where no one bothers me. That with multiple cups of coffee…Perfection.

What might your personal library look like?

I have two bookcases and I’m about to get a third and they’re mostly filled with science fiction and fantasy. But really I’ll read anything fiction—I’m an escapist, I don’t want to read about real life, reading is my break from life.

If you could “re-make” a poorly written movie that was based on a book, what movie would it be?

INKHEART!!! Most movies that have been based on books are terrible, but this was just torture to watch. It butchered my favorite book so dreadfully that I couldn’t read it for a few months after seeing the move.

What piece of literature can you reread over and over again?

I reread everything…But at the moment The Green Rider series by Kristin Britain is my current go to reread. Harry Potter and The Otherworld Series by Kelley Armstrong and its two companion trilogies are some of my other favorite rereads.

Give us a quote from your favorite (or any) book/movie.

“Not all is certainty in our world, Karigan. If it were there’d be no opportunity for faith; and then it would be a very dull existence.”

–High Kings Tomb

But really there are so many…especially if there is sarcasm, I’m a sucker for sarcasm and alliteration.

If you were invited to have coffee with any fictional character, who would you most like to meet? Why?

There are far too many to choose!!!! If I have to choose I guess it would be The Raven Mask from The Green Rider series. He’s sarcastic and a master thief and swordfight. And then later he becomes a pirate! He’s like a Captain Jack Sparrow.

Share your top five favorite pieces of writing (anything included)

I made the executive decision to do my top five series because I don’t read many standalone novels. (Top Five Series excluding Harry Potter because Hogwarts is where I grew up, so it cannot be contained on a list where there is no spot higher than #1…)

  1. The Green Rider Series by Kristin Britain
  2. Inkheart Trilogy by Cornelia Funke
  3. The Otherworld Series by Kelley Armstrong
  4. I Am Number 4 by Pittacus Lore
  5. The Lux Series by Jennifer Armentrout

********************

There you have it! I hope you enjoyed getting to know Michelle! We should have another one of these posts for you next Friday. In the meantime, you can check out more of these question-and-answer sessions right here.

– Jet Fuel Blog Editor, Mary Egan

One thought on “Meet the Editors: Michelle Staie

Leave a Reply

