Meet the Editors: Roslyn Summerville

Roslyn Summerville
Roslyn Summerville

Hello and welcome to another installment of “Meet the Editors.” I’m very excited to be able to bring you another one of these questionnaires this Friday. The questions in this post were all written by Melissa Carrington, a Fiction Editor and Assistant Blog Editor for the Jet Fuel Review. And this week the answers in this post were written by Roslyn Summerville, who is a Fiction Editor, Assistant Communications & Media Editor for the Jet Fuel Review. We hope to keep bringing you posts like this each Friday and introducing you to more and more folks who are involved in the creation of the Jet Fuel Review. And now, let’s hear from Roslyn.

Who are you and what is your role in the Jet Fuel Review?

My name is Roslyn Summerville and I am a Fiction Editor and a Media & Communications Assistant Editor.

What book might we find on your nightstand right now?

Right now I have The Book Thief opened to page 148. =)

If you had the chance to co-write with one author, who would you choose? Why?

I would definitely choose to co-write with Markus Zusak. Well, him or Kristin Cashore. Zusak is my favorite writer; the way he structures his sentences is just beautiful. I’m always left wanting more from him, which was why I went from reading The Messenger, to Getting the Girl, and then right into The Book Thief. I’m obsessed with his works at the moment. Kristin Cashore also writes well, however, I like the adventure in her books over her writing style. She manages to weave an amazing writing style with action, adventure, and romance. I only wish I could write as well as she does.

Describe your perfect reading atmosphere.

I find that I could read practically anywhere. However, I really like reading in bed right after I wake up in the morning. I’m completely relaxed without a care in the world when I’m able to do that.

What might your personal library look like?

Oh man, haha…well let’s just say I’m a sucker for vampires! =) Pun very much so intended by the way…Anyway, you will find all things fantastical, adventuresome, and romantic piled into my bookshelves at home. I absolutely love paranormal novels. They just seem so much more exciting than real life! I mean, come on, a hot vamp character versus hot human character will always end in a vamp victory for me. Supernatural stuff just has a way of drawing me in. On my other bookshelf you will find all of my manga collections, which are very important because they actually are the reason that I became an avid reader in the first place. I used to hate reading, but then I found Naruto, a manga about a ninja who has many battles and challenges that he faces with his friends and instantly fell in love. When it comes to reading for pure enjoyment nothing I have read has even come close to Naruto for me. Yeah, I’m a nerd. =)

If you could “re-make” a poorly written movie that was based on a book, what movie would it be?

Well, I think I would have to change the fact that Twilight ever came out as a movie -_- That’s all I have to say on that matter.

What piece of literature can you reread over and over again?

I’ve never actually reread anything literature-wise. Whenever I think I want to read something again I always talk myself out of it because I just get bored rereading it. Right when I start there’s this flash in my head when I remember everything that happens in the book, so I find it to be tedious. I like new things and jumping around from story to story.

Give us a quote from your favorite (or any) book/movie.

One of my favorite quotes would have to be from Getting the Girl: “There are so many moments to remember, and sometimes I think that maybe we’re not really people at all. Maybe moments are what we are. Moments of weakness, of strength. Moments of rescue, of everything.”

If you were invited to have coffee with any fictional character, who would you most like to meet? Why?

Oh, Damon Salvatore (from The Vampire Diaries) in a heartbeat. I would most definitely choose to have coffee with Damon Salvatore…or, wait! Klaus. I would pick Klaus…Or how about both? I’d like to meet both of them for coffee. =) As for the reason why…I think it’s obvious, haha. But, if it’s not, just imagine the sexiest man you’ve ever seen (or imagined) and then multiply it by a hundred and you have Damon and Klaus. 😉

Share your top five favorite pieces of writing (anything included).

  1. Naruto for sure! I’ve been a loyal fan for over ten years of reading this manga and I will love it for the rest of my life. My absolute favorite characters and plot lines come out of this epic ninja story. =)
  2. Anything written by Markus Zusak (If I’d listed them I could barely say anything else!)
  3. Graceling by Kristin Cashore
  4. The Morganville Vampires Series by Rachel Caine
  5. Then finally, I’d have to say The Sookie Stackhouse series because I love me some Eric Northman.

…Told you I was a sucker for vampires, haha. =) Guilty pleasure reading is what I immerse myself in. If you don’t like what you’re reading, then what’s the point? Reading is ultimately just because you like it, if you take it too seriously then it wouldn’t be fun.

********************

There you have it! I hope you enjoyed getting to know Roslyn! We should have another one of these posts for you next Friday. In the meantime, you can check out Tim Fitzpatrick’s question-and-answer session right here.

— Jet Fuel Blog Editor, Mary Egan

One thought on “Meet the Editors: Roslyn Summerville

Leave a Reply

