Meet the Editors: Tim Fitzpatrick

Tim Fitzpatrick, Managing Editor

Editor’s Notes: Welcome to the very first installment of the new ‘Meet the Editors’ feature here on the Jet Fuel Review blog! We will be interviewing and featuring more members of the Jet Fuel Review staff, and (hopefully) posting featurettes like this one each week. For now, though, let’s get to know Tim Fitzpatrick, the Managing Editor of the Jet Fuel Review.

Who are you and what is your role in Jet Fuel Review?

My name is Tim Fitzpatrick, and I am Jet Fuel’s managing editor.

What book might we find on your nightstand right now?

You’re going to find a few.  George Saunders Tenth of December is a collection of short stories that I received over the summer, and I’m only now getting a chance to read it.  My boss (other job) insisted that I read a book on marketing by Robert Cialdini called Influence: the Psychology of Persuasion. It’s a pretty interesting read about why people say yes to certain ideas, and no to others.  The third book is Howard Zinn’s A People’s History of the United States.  I think that book has been next to my bed for the better part of a year.  I read some of it whenever I’m in the mood for an interesting take on history, but I’ve never read more than 30 or so pages at a time.

If you had the chance to co-write with one author, who would you choose?  Why?

I’m going to go with Stephen King, and the reason is his work ethic.  People are quick to hate on King because his stories are formulaic, but it still takes an incredible work ethic to be able to write a 500 page novel every year.  Hopefully, working side by side with him, some of that intense focus might rub off.

Describe your perfect reading atmosphere.

Give me a comfortable chair, some jazz piano, and a big ass cup of coffee, and I’ll read anywhere.  Oh, I’ll probably need a book too.

Tim’s Personal Library

What might your personal library look like?

A nightmare to anyone with OCD.  Seriously, there is something that resembles order about it, but that’s about it.  The Brothers Karamazov sits next to Batman: The Dark Knight Returns, Richard Dawkins is next to Doris Kearns Goodwin, and The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay is next to a half-empty bottle of Jameson.

If you could “re-make” a poorly written movie that was based on a book, what movie would it be?

World War Z.  Besides the title and zombies, the movie had nothing in common with the book.  I wouldn’t really complain about that, except the movie was pretty bad.  I’m not going to get into why I thought the movie was bad; I’ll just say that it should have been done as a miniseries.  Give each story in the book its own episode.  The other change I would have made would be to have it come out when the book did.  7 years ago. Before the whole zombie thing got overdone.

What piece of literature can you read over and over again?

The Swimmer by John Cheever

Give us a quote from your favorite (or any) book/movie.

“Fiction allows us to slide into these other heads, these other places, and look out through other eyes. And then in the tale we stop before we die, or we die vicariously and unharmed, and in the world beyond the tale we turn the page or close the book, and we resume our lives.”
― Neil Gaiman, American Gods

If you were invited to have coffee with any fictional character, who would you most like to meet? Why?  

Indiana Jones.  I’m sure there are some pretty amazing literary characters that would be fun to have a cup of coffee with, but c’mon, if I only get one it’s going to be my childhood hero.  I am going to make one change though, we’re not getting coffee; we’re grabbing a beer.

Share your top five favorite pieces of writing (anything included)

A Letter from Birmingham Jail  by Martin Luther King Jr.
Us and Them by David Sedaris
The Swimmer by John Cheever
The Children of Men by PD James
The Tawdriness of the Miraculous by Christopher Hitchens
 

We hope that you enjoyed this first installment of ‘Meet the Editors.’ Stay tuned for more of these! If you’d like to get to meet the Jet Fuel staff more informally in the meantime, you can check out the Masthead page on the Jet Fuel website.

2 thoughts on “Meet the Editors: Tim Fitzpatrick

Leave a Reply

