Discuss: Your Book Pile

http://bookriot.com

The contents of your room say a lot about who you are as a person. Whether it’s neat and tidy or more messy and scattered, how you organize your own space can give an insight into how your mind is organized. The same can be said about your book pile. After all, what you choose to read reflects on your personality. But not only that, how you organize your books and how you let them pile up, says a lot about you as well.

Maybe your book pile is completely overflowing (like mine is). This might signal that you have good intentions about wanting to get some reading done, but you can’t resist the siren song of bargain book stores and keep loading up on cheap tomes. I mean, who can stay away from Half Price Books? But maybe your book pile is neat and tidy and only contains the next four books you want to read. This would signal that you’re on top of your reading list and don’t allow yourself to recklessly buy more books until you’ve read these books.

This post was inspired by one on the Book Riot site and they offer some really awesome photos in their post. My personal favorite is the second photo — place those books on some shelves and you’ve got an approximation of what my own, personal book pile looks like. In some far off, fantasy world, I’d like to think that I could be the type of person who keeps a small, tidy To-Read list, but I know it will never happen. $1 books are just too good to pass up and I like having a large cache of books to turn to when I want to read something.

So, how about you guys? What are your book piles like? Dive in and do a bit of psychoanalysis — what does your book pile say about you? Have fun with it and include a photo. Leave your book piles in the comments!

— Jet Fuel Blog Editor, Mary Egan

5 thoughts on “Discuss: Your Book Pile

  1. Vincent Francone March 5, 2013 / 10:17 am

    Overstuffed shelves and books piled on the floor that were, once, organized but have since been scattered and re-piled into a semi-coherent mess that implies not only that I am unable to keep up with my own interests and ambitions, which have clearly gotten away from me, but also that I cannot refuse a good bargain, as you write, and, even though I have read The Master and Margarita, arguably the best novel ever written, the fact that I own 27 copies, some in languages I cannot read, suggests that I have a problem.

    • Editor March 5, 2013 / 5:24 pm

      Haha! I have something of a problem with owning multiple copies of the same book, as well. I have two copies of ‘The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier Clay’ – each with a different cover – and I have my eye on a third. 😉

  2. Lennart Lundh March 5, 2013 / 3:58 pm

    We have various combinations of book piles, book bags, and book shelves in every room in the house. Organized? Eh. . . Sort of. Sometimes. We’re omnivorous readers. A friend once said that our unbounded taste in books and music meant we really had no taste at all. I prefer to think it means we look at the world as an unending buffet.

    • Editor March 5, 2013 / 5:24 pm

      No taste at all? Absolutely not! That just means that you want to try a bit of everything and you don’t want to close your mind to any genre. 🙂

Leave a Reply

