Before We Make Those Resolutions…

Matthew McConaughey in Killer Joe
Matthew McConaughey in Killer Joe

It’s that time of year again when we’re overcome with the desire to make well meaning promises, a tradition otherwise known as New Year’s resolutions. “From this moment forward I will write two thousand words a day for my alternative zine!” You might say. Or “That’s it! This is the year I cast my hat into the ring of artisanal dried meats!” Well, we book-readers and film-watchers are no different. We too like to wake up bleary eyed after a night of New Year’s debauchery and proclaim to the morning sun “I’m going to finally get into Béla Tarr this year!” or “I’ll actually start going to theater’s to watch films instead of just as an excuse to eat roller hot-dogs!” But, before I go out setting the bar too high I’d like to take a moment to look back at the previous year and make sure I’m all caught up.

For myself, 2012 was a year full of great movie experiences but it was also a year where I let a good deal pass by. So, I went ahead and created a list of 2012 movies that I had to see before I let myself jump head first into any resolutions for 2013. For full disclosure here is the list of what I missed out on in 2012:

  • Amour
  • Beasts of the Southern Wild
  • Compliance*
  • Holy Motors
  • The Imposter
  • Killer Joe*
  • Looper
  • Magic Mike
  • Side by Side
  • Sleepwalk with Me*

Since I’ve made the list I’ve already seen Sleepwalk with Me, Compliance, and Killer Joe all of which I wish I had watched sooner because I ended up so thoroughly enjoying. I’ve never done this before but finishing this list before I allow myself to make any resolution will certainly influence what my resolution is going to be. For one thing, since I have a good size list I get to set a doable pace for myself. For another since I have a quality list I’m reminded of the pleasure of watching good movies and why I try to make that such a priority in my life.

What were some of the films you missed in 2012? Also, what were some of the films you loved? Have you already made your resolution for 2013? If so, what is it? Please make sure to leave some comments below so that we can continue our discussion on resolutions, films we missed, and how great 2012 was for Matthew McConaughey (Bernie and Killer Joe.)

-Jet Fuel Blogger, Lucas Sifuentes

One thought on “Before We Make Those Resolutions…

Leave a Reply

