Discuss: Writing Resolutions

http://lovelynbettison.com

Yes, it’s that time again. We are now eight days into the new year and by now I’m sure you’ve had time to think of your new year’s resolutions. They are a tradition to make and, often, a tradition to break. They can be very hard to stay on top of by the time, say, January 15th rolls around. But I was just wondering — have any of you made writing-related resolutions?

Personally, I am a big fan of new year’s resolutions. And out of my usual list of 8-10, I manage to keep about half of them throughout the entire year. I have a rather small life still, so I keep my resolutions small. When I’m off living a jet-setting lifestyle as a big-wig in the publishing world (wishful thinking, I know), I’m sure my resolutions will be grander. But right now I’m setting my sights on small, achievable goals, and that would be my biggest piece of advice if you’re looking to set some resolutions/goals for yourself. Make them achievable, or you will end the year feeling like a failure. Choose things that you can do and want to improve upon.

On my list this year there are two major writing-related goals/resolutions. One is to work on 2012’s NaNoWriMo novel until it is finished. This means writing during my break time at work and writing on the weekends. The other, accompanying goal is to edit that manuscript heavily once it is finished being written. I don’t know how long this is going to take. I haven’t been in the world of my NaNoWriMo novel since November, so I need to reacquaint myself with the characters and the world, and then I want to get writing! This is a big one for me, I want this year to be a good one for writing.

What are your writing resolutions, if any? If you are opposed to the making of new year’s resolutions, what are your writing goals for now and the near future? Please share them in the comments!

— Jet Fuel Blog Editor, Mary Egan

One thought on “Discuss: Writing Resolutions

Leave a Reply

