Discuss: Awesome Literary Things

http://vimeo.com/53679084

The Biblio-Mat

Because this week has a holiday in it and I’m certain that none of us feel like doing much work, I thought this week’s Discussion post should contain an Awesome Literary Thing. And trust me, this is awesome.

Have you ever gone into a book store and thought this place needs a vending machine. Honestly, I haven’t thought this, but now I think I might be considering the option in any book store I visit from now on. This change of mind is all thanks to The Biblio-Mat — a vending machine for rare, antiquarian books. I found this amazing video courtesy of Boing Boing, which brings me most of my awesome videos and awesome things in general.

Apparently, this book vending machine was created by Craig Small, the creative director of an animation studio in Toronto called The Juggernaut. Unfortunately for those of us in the States and elsewhere, this book vending machine can only be found at a Toronto book store called The Monkey’s Paw, which looks like it was an amazing place even before the installation of the Biblio-Mat. But with its inclusion, The Monkey’s Paw seems to have reached the height of hipster, bookish perfection.

I’ll let Craig Smalls describe his creation: “When a customer puts coins into it, the Biblio-Mat dramatically whirrs and vibrates as the machine is set in motion. The ring of an old telephone bell enhances the thrill when the customer’s mystery book is delivered with a satisfying clunk into the receptacle below.”

Like I said…so awesome. 

Do you have any awesome literary things to share this week? What are your thoughts on the Biblio-Mat? What are your favorite book stores, and do you think they would be improved by an innovation like the Biblio-Mat? Please share in the comments!

— Jet Fuel Blog Editor, Mary Egan

One thought on “Discuss: Awesome Literary Things

Leave a Reply

