Discuss: Summer Reading List

Posted: June 5, 2012 in Community Discussion

As the days turn warmer and longer, people begin to stray from their everyday lives and seek summer getaways. If you’re a big reader, choosing which book to pack in your suitcase for that summer vacation is a very important choice to make. Choose the wrong book and you’re stuck with a dud for the whole time you’re at your island refuge. But if you choose a good one, it can make your whole vacation that much better. Even if you’re staying at home this summer, you need something to while away those long summer nights. I know that some of my best reading has been done during those summer months. As a kid, summers would mean walking to the library, picking up a whole stack of books, and holing up in my room with no school work to disturb me.

This year I’ve got some juicy reads to look forward to on my own To-Be-Read list. These include titles such as In the Garden of Beasts by Erik Larson, The Fry Chronicles by Stephen Fry, Time Was Soft There by Jeremy Mercer. I’ve also got scores of other books staring me down from my bookshelf, just waiting to be read. Though I’m no longer escaping from school work, I hope that I can find some solace during the work day, and on lazy weekend mornings, with a good book.

The majority of my TBR books are outdated, titles that I’ve taken my sweet time getting around to, there are many excellent titles just being released this summer. The Book Case, a blog that accompanies The BookPage, has listed many of these titles for your perusal. What’s on your summer reading list? What are some books that you’re looking forward to reading on vacation? What are your summer reading experiences as a kid? Let’s talk in the comments!

– Jet Fuel Editor, Mary Egan

Comments
  1. […] need to constantly be checking for in your pieces. The discussion post this week talked about our summer reading list. What’s on yours? Pop over to the post and let us know in the comments! This week’s […]

Leave a Reply

